Writer’s note:  This is the first part in a series as to the reasons why I didn’t attend my high school reunion.  While the information is true, it still may offend some people.  Reader discretion is advised.

Bullying.

This is the core of the problem of the reason why I never attended my high school reunion last summer.  As I mentioned in a previous post, I was bullied during my entire high school existence right through the present.  Everything that had happened over the years reflect on that one idea.

Certainly while there is more awareness of the problem, it will never go away because administrators care more about protecting their unions rather than helping the students.  Nothing has changed since I went to high school all those years ago.

Now let me start the story.

Let me begin by starting at the end.  Normally nobody would start a story at the end, but this one sounds better starting that way.

Shortly after the reunion took place last summer, there were quite a few pictures that were posted on the special Facebook group page that was established just for our graduating class.

The biggest problem with these pictures is that every one of them I could not identify who was in the picture.  Since there was no tagging of people in the pictures, I had absolutely no clue who any of the people were.  It was quite obvious that of the 75 or so people who attended the event that the pictures only had a small percentage of them in the pictures.  It seemed that only the popular people made the pictures, which was also the way that pictures in the yearbooks also were handled.

Why would I ever go to any reunion when I would probably get ignored and never get in any of the pictures?  To make matters worse, since this event occurred on an island, I had no intention of ever making that boat trip to it.

Now about that Facebook group page.  I wasn’t invited to it.  I was dragged into it kicking and screaming.  Ok, maybe not dragged into it, but I was still thrown into it.

The bad thing about this group is that the people who run it hate me.  Not just a little hatred but the kind that would make executions look enjoyable.  Everything I have written on the page has been deleted by the group because apparently they don’t like what I have to say.   Don’t they realize that they are violating my 1st amendment rights of free speech?  I guess that they just don’t care about me or what I have to say.

Of course, most of those in this group are friends with each other, but not with me.  This was the same sort of treatment that existed during my entire high school life.  Maybe this group feels a sense of completeness by having me part of it even though they don’t make me feel welcome.  I don’t know why I just don’t leave this group and just ignore them once and for all.  Of course, given that this is Facebook, hatred is widespread on the site.

And we all know that hatred is really just part of the bullying picture.  Therefore, the group is promoting hatred and bullying just like they did back all those years ago.

Some people never change.  In this case, it seems that most people never change.

Ever.

