Last week, I celebrated my birthday.

 

You probably didn’t know it either.

 

In fact, out of my nearly 800 Facebook friends, I received a paltry 10 birthday wishes.

 

Now, I don’t know if I should really be angry about this or just frustrated at this.

 

What bothers me is that some people who had given me wishes in the past were nowhere to be found this year.  I don’t know if they were angry at me because I never recognized their birthday or they were just self-absorbed in themselves.

 

Yes, I said that.

 

People have been so self-absorbed with themselves that they can’t get out of their own way.

 

I like to call these people “self-centered” as they care only about themselves.

 

I have seen a lot of that lately.

 

Now before I begin some of you may consider that I was that way with my last post, when I wrote an open letter to my now-married now-I-guess-ex-girlfriend.  In some ways, I have to agree to that, but those of you who know me would know that I really am not this way in real life.

 

Now onto my real life examples of the self-centered people:

 

Example 1:

 

Most everyone on Facebook is self-centered.  Whether you make a post about your new baby, your body building techniques, or what you are having for dinner, you are telling me things that I really don’t care about.  The biggest offenders of this are the so-called “celebrity” friends that I have that post endless pictures of them and have no social interaction with anyone.  Certainly, narcissism is alive on Facebook.

 

 

Example 2:

 

In the last few weeks, a former high school class member graduated from a local adult education school and received their GED.  What is disturbing about this is that the person wanted to participate in the city’s graduation ceremonies to make it look like they were a real graduate.  This person was encouraging the fellow former class members to contact the superintendent to have the policy altered to allow for the person to attend the regular ceremonies.  This person said that they will go to the media if he doesn’t get his way.  Personally, I am outraged over this as I don’t believe that any policy should ever be changed just to satisfy one person.  Of course, I would not post it in the Facebook group’s page as it would definitely get deleted very quickly.

 

Example 3:

 

Too many times lately, people have not been paying attention when either entering or leaving a particular doorway.  It don’t matter what doorway, it could be any doorway.  The fact that people don’t realize that somebody is behind them and either don’t look or don’t care to look so the door goes flying into my face.  I see this almost everywhere I go that doesn’t have automatic doors.  Are people who self-centered that they don’t care of what they are doing?

 

Example 4:

 

Yes, we know that you should not text and drive.  However, what about the reverse?  Lately, I have seen a lot of people using their little cellphones and NOT looking where they are going sometimes walking right out in traffic causing people like me to slam on their brakes to avoid hitting them.  As I mentioned in a previous post, this sort of thing of not paying attention while walking causes problems, some causing injury.  I think that these people should stop being so self-centered and put down their phones and pay attention to their surroundings especially when walking in traffic.

 

Example 5:

 

Last Sunday, I posted on Facebook that I was experiencing the saddest day of my life.  Only 4 of my friends inquired what was wrong and a fifth liked this status (seriously liking a sad status, do these people even pay attention to what is written?).  When I explained what was wrong, NONE of them commented any further or showed any sympathy to my distress.  Apparently, they were all self-centered to care.  Ironically out of these 4 people, only 2 gave me birthday wishes a couple of days earlier.  Again, I am not angry just disgusted by the lack of respect of my friends.  This is self-centered behavior at its finest.

 

 

Overall, I hope that these examples have brought to light the fact that people have become more and more self-centered and less social to others.  People have become more self-absorbed and show absolutely no emotion or feelings to others under any circumstance.

 

I believe this has to change or our society is doomed to be a bunch of self-centered people.  I would like to think that I am wrong about that.

 

 

 

