Way back in 1989, when I was in California, I had the opportunity to meet Sherman Hemsley who died yesterday.  It was at CBS Television City in Los Angeles during the filming of the syndicated game show of “3rd Degree“.  Sherman was one of the guests who shared a special interest with a common person they was paired with.  If I remember correctly, the common thing was that both were musicians who performed together.

I remember him being a very nice person and very entertaining.  It is appearances like this that are rare for performers when they can express talents not usually seen.  Unfortunately, this show only lasted a year, but it was very entertaining and I was lucky enough to see a handful of episodes filmed while vacationing in California back in 1989.

Sherman will be dearly missed along with host Bert Convy who died not long after this show wrapped up about a year later.

