Facebook can be a wonderful place for people to reconnect with those long-lost friends that you want to keep in touch with.

 

It can also be the place where you can be hated by those you thought were once your friends or maybe you were misled into thinking they were your friend.

 

Such has been the case with me in the last couple of weeks.

 

I regularly use the Facebook application “who unfriended me” to check who has either deleted their accounts or in the rare occasion of who decided to unfriend me outright.

 

About a year ago, I had approximately 1100 friends on Facebook.  Now that number is just a little over 600.  Most are those who deleted their accounts, but there are some that made that decision to cut their ties with me.

 

I have never personally unfriended anyone nor would I ever do that.  However, as I have mentioned in a previous post, I did have to block a couple of people not only for my safety but also the safety of my other friends.  As I stated then, it was a tough decision but one that I don’t regret.

 

What is bad is when somebody who you have been friends with since junior high school decides to unfriend you after being an online friend since I first came onto Facebook about 5 years ago.  So what did I do wrong that drove them away?  The world and I will never know.

 

On the other hand, I also lost a manager I used to work with about 8 years ago as a friend on Facebook as well.  The real difference with him is that he was only friends with me for about the last couple of months.  Apparently, this jerk manager who has the biggest ego I had ever known decided that I wasn’t worthy to be a friend anymore and decided to cut the cord on this friendship.  I don’t think anybody needs somebody who thinks they are so wonderful that they care more about themselves than others around them.  All I can say to him is “adios amigos”.

 

Overall, I most disappointed by those who never friended me.  You know the types:  those who are mutual friends with dozens of others who were also thought to be friends with you in the past and those you meet in person who say they will send you a friend request as soon as possible.

 

I really don’t know which of these groups I hate the most.  To me both of these groups represent liars.  As far as I am concerned none of these type of people are worthy of being friends online or in real life.

 

This brings me full circle to my discussion of bullying in a past posting.  Why would anybody want to friend someone who always showed hatred in the first place?  Or for that matter, why would anyone want to be part of any online group that doesn’t show respect to its members?

 

This will be the beginning of the discussion that I plan to start next time as I say why I will never attend any of my high school reunions.  I expect that there will be those out there who may unfriend me after that discussion but I expect that even though I am not hoping for it.

 

Only time will tell how people will react to that topic.

