Last time I mentioned that Time Warner Cable had discontinued the alphabetical listing in the guide.

 

Well, surprise in the last day or so, it has returned.

 

Also, I failed to mention last week that the star rating system has also been restored as well.  While the system is not perfect, it is still more of a guideline than nothing at all.

 

So is TWC secretly reading this blog as a guideline as to problems that exist and then try to correct them based upon what is written here?

 

That is unknown as the high definition/standard definition problem still exists and I see no easy solution to switching between them.

 

However, it does seem odd that the fixes that do happen appear shortly after my blog post.  Since nobody from the company seems to respond on this blog, I can assume that somebody somewhere may be passing along the information to TWC.

 

Either way, if somebody from the company is reading this, then I would make the following product suggestion:

 

Make Whole House DVR free.

 

The reason I say this is that the satellite companies already offer this service for free already and certainly would not take much effort for TWC to make this available to everyone with multiple DVRs.  It is already listed in the diagnostic screen so it would not be any difficulty to make this a standard free option.

 

Secondly, when I picked up my multiple DVRs at the cable company, the person at the counter said that the company would soon be having whole house DVR service available for free.

 

Whether this was a misstatement or a possible service idea is unknown.  The fact that it was said so positively made me think that they really wanted this service free, but changed their mind at the last minute.

 

With charges for everything now from the boxes to remotes, it would be appreciated if this simple addition would happen at no charge.  After all, the units are already network enabled.

 

Do I expect them to do this anytime in the near future?

 

If they want to make customers happy, then I would say yes.

 

However, given their past record, I don’t expect this to happen anytime in the near future.

 

Yet, if somebody at TWC is reading this, then you will make whole house DVR free as it is with everybody else and stop nickel and diming everyone to death.

 

 

