Writer’s note:  This is the second part in a series as to the reasons why I didn’t attend my high school reunion.  While the information is true, it still may offend some people.  Reader discretion is advised.

 

The high school yearbook.

 

This is the book that is supposed to bring back memories of what happened over the past year of one’s existence in school.  In fact, as I have mentioned in a previous post, my senior high school picture is my profile picture of all my connections on the internet.

 

Not that I am really happy about that picture, much less my existence during my senior year.  Except for the one picture in the book, I am really nowhere to be found.

 

At least that was the way it was for the first 2 years of high school.

 

This story begins during my sophomore of high school.  Actually, this is the first year that I was physically in the high school.

 

At that time, the grades of 7-9 were in junior high and 10-12 were in the high school.

 

When I got to the 10th grade, I started a significant number of computer classes.  Not only that but I was spending as much time as possible after school in the computer lab.  It was not uncommon for me to stay afterschool everyday whether I needed to or not.

 

All this time, I spent in the computer lab caught the attention of the business teacher head, Marshall Sawtelle.  If ever there was somebody who was a teacher’s pet, I was it.  I spent so much time with him that at one point, it seemed that I was a member of his family.  Actually, I met his family at one time and after his passing, his wife said that he always talked about me even years after I left school.

 

Anyway, he asked if I wanted to take control of the billing of yearbook advertising.  It seemed that I wasn’t really asked, but instead forced to do it.  At least, that is how I saw it.

 

For those of you who don’t know what yearbook advertising is, they are ads placed in the back of the yearbook to promote their businesses and to congratulate the current graduating class.  Most importantly, without these ads, the price of the yearbook would be significantly more.  Sometimes it took several times of sending out bills before the advertiser would pay their statement.  This actually was a very important job and I had to keep on top of it to make sure everything kept running smoothly.  So, actually, I was a member of the yearbook club.

 

Or so I thought.

 

When I went to attend my first meeting, I was greeted with hostility.  I tried to explain my job function, but those who were part of this group refused to listen and asked me to leave.  Apparently, under NO condition was I ever welcome to this group even though I was heading up the billing.

 

When I explained the situation to Mr. Sawtelle, he was exasperated that they would do such a thing.  I also explained the same thing to both an assistant principal and the actual principal with no result.  It was apparent that the administration cared nothing about the groups at the school or whoever attended them.

 

I never tried to return to another one of their meetings ever again because I just didn’t want to get embarrassed by the whole situation.

 

However, the group’s hatred toward me didn’t end there.

 

It was too late to get my name on the acknowledgement page during my first year.  However, apparently my name was supposed to be in the yearbook during my junior year, but was edited out by the yearbook group.

 

However, this did not sit well with Mr. Sawtelle.  Rarely did I ever see him not be his jolly self, but this time his buttons were pushed and he decided to do something about it.

 

So as my name was deleted in the senior year as it was in the junior year, Mr. Sawtelle got his revenge by putting my name back into the page at the bottom right before the final copy was sent off to the printer.  Of course, he and I were both happy with the acknowledgement and the yearbook group was not happy.

 

In fact, despite revenge being sweet, those people who were part of the yearbook group continued their hatred of me for what would be the remainder of the school year, which would also be graduation day.

 

I think many of these same people still hate me right up to this date for my name being featured on the yearbook acknowledgement page.

 

At least one person appreciated all the work I did and made sure I finally got the credit I deserved no matter what others thought.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

