This is the scariest time of year.

 

Yes I know we have Halloween, but that is not the scariest part.

 

Welcome to the Election Day nightmare.

 

It builds up for months then on the first Tuesday of November it explodes.

 

We suffer for months with endless ads from candidates and enemies of candidates on why to vote for or not vote for a certain person.  Add to this any referendum question and you have a full day of endless entertainment.

 

However it is not entertaining at all.  In fact, it is downright annoying.

 

Of course all these ads create great conversation sometimes not for the better as recently I found out by posting information about a candidate that I read somewhere else weeks earlier.  What happened at that point were a couple of vile and offensive remarks directed at me personally.

 

The bad thing about all this is that these people are friends of a friend (not my friends).  These people have never met me and have absolutely no reason to make the obscene comments that were made.  I was so angry that I called these people idiots and that is where the conversation ended.

 

Ironically, a couple of days later I read in a local free paper almost exactly the same things that I had written about a few days earlier.  Sadly I never got an apology from any of the offending people nor did I expect one as these people are completely ignorant in their views.  These are the type of people who go voting blind and cause the rest of us with results we don’t care about.

 

This is the reason why Maine is now the butt of everybody’s joke with our dumb governor Paul LePage.

 

So now I am going to try to enlighten those in the Maine area with what I think people should vote for and some unfortunate real results we will see.

 

Let me start with the governor’s race.  Here we have Republican LePage, running against Democrat Mike Michaud (current House member) and independent Eliot Cutler (running for a second time).  My choice for the second time is Cutler as I voted for him before and I like his brute honesty about himself.  The other 2 are in a dead heat, but both are angry politicians with views that would destroy the state.  Instead of the slogan “Open for Business”, maybe we should have “Closed for Demolition” as our new slogan as we slide into economic oblivion.

 

So now who is going to win?  Unfortunately, it won’t be Cutler unless somebody eliminates the other 2 in some dark alley.  We are in for 4 more years of hell given no matter who wins.

 

Now in the second district seat (not where I live, thankfully), we have the extremist Democrat, the criminal Republican and the NRA card-carrying constitution hugging independent.  While I won’t mention any of these candidates by name, let me say that my choice is none of the above.  I don’t think that any of them should represent this state on any ground whatsoever.

 

The other 2 races for Senate and U.S. House member is so far lopsided, they are not even worth mentioning here.

 

What is however worth mentioning here is referendum question 1 which would ban bear-baiting in the state.  I recommend a yes vote only because the bears are being treated in a cruel manner for the big kill.  Let us not forget that we built on their land, which is why they are entering many of our neighborhoods.  It is time we arm the bears to even the score.  I would definitely support that idea.

 

The rest of the referendums are to spend millions of dollars for various health related projects, most for locations to be determined in the future.  This is the problem with this whole idea:  just setting money aside for some random location with no solid plans is a waste of taxpayer money.  We should not pay for somebody’s random placement of some facility which may or may not ever pay off.  So I recommend a no vote on all these questions except for the sewer issue which corrects ongoing problems and comes up every year.

 

Finally in the city of South Portland where I live, there is a referendum to legalize small amounts of marijuana for those over 21.  I don’t recommend this one either as I have never seen any proof that marijuana is good for anybody, medical or recreational despite some claims made by voodoo doctors.  It should be banned period.  Of course this comes just a few months after the city didn’t want to build smokestacks to support tar sands in the city.  Am i the only one who doesn’t see the irony here?  I expect that this one might pass just because of the ignorance of its citizens despite the city council and police chief stating their desire to defeat this issue.

 

Overall, I expect that I won’t be happy with the results of this election cycle.  I also expect that these same feelings will be shared by thousands of others whose results were not as desired around the country in their own political battlegrounds.   However if you don’t vote you can’t complain.

 

So my recommendation is to vote early and vote often.  Only by voting can change happen everywhere that needs to happen.

 

